HOME | HISTORY | CASTLE | SOCIETY | ARTICLES | FAQ | NEWS | CONTACT US
Quick Link:
The Old Kirk of Weem (The Menzies Mausoleum)

The Old Kirk of Weem is situated east of The Weem Hotel and west of the current parish church.

It was built c. 1488 probably at the request of the then Clan Chief, Menzies of Menzies. It has always been associated with St. Cuthbert who brought his ministry to Strathtay in c. A. D. 650 and is said to have lived in a cave on the hillside.

The building was used before and after the Reformation as a parish church until 1836 when it was presented to the then Chief as a family mausoleum. It remained the heritable property of the Menzies Chiefs until 1996, when the current Chief gave it to The Menzies Charitable Trust to care for.





Items of interest in the Old Kirk

• The Menzies Memorial carved in 1616, a unique genealogical record.
• Menzies Hatchments (Funeral Arms)
• Two of the ancient sanctuary crosses that came from the 8th century Celtic monastery in Dull.
• St. Cuthbert’s cross which used to stand on the hillside near the cave.
• An early hexagonal stone font.
• Several early tombstones.

The Menzies' Memorial
The Menzies Memorial

The Burial Place of Many Menzies Chiefs
Tombs of Former Chiefs

Menzies' Hatchments
Hatchments(Funeral Arms)

Inscription above Kirk Door

Door Inscription
(see longer article)

For a more detailed history of the Mausoleum and Weem’s association with St. Cuthbert click here.

 
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact Us
© Clan Menzies 2004-2012. All rights reserved.